No repair shop is complete without a couple of cash drawers. They make your life easier than ever so, why not have them on your system as well? Luckily, RepairDesk allows you to map physical cash drawers to virtual cash drawers of your POS. You can keep track cash flow during multiple shifts and hold your employees accountable.
Managing a Cash Register
Let's map your physical cash drawers to virtual cash registers. First, follow the following path and then the steps below:
Store Settings → Store → Cash Register
Setup a Cash Register
Enable the module by clicking on the Enable button.
Create a new cash register by specifying register name names and give access to employees.
You can give access to one cash register to multiple employees.
To perform any transaction register selection will be mandatory.
Go to POS Home & select the register.
After selecting the register you can see the amount present in the register and if anyone is already using it.
Marking payment methods as accumulative
You can now mark your payment methods as accumulative. A payment method that you have marked as accumulated will be shown at the time you are opening your cash register. You can mark your payment methods as accumulative by going to settings → store settings → payment methods. Once on the payment methods screen, you can click on a payment method and should have the option to mark it as accumulative. Please remember that cash will always be marked as accumulated by default. Payout can only be completed for payment methods marked as accumulative while closing the register.
The RepairDesk cash register will have the ability to work under several customized configurations for the benefit of the user. You will have the ability to turn these configurations on/off as per your store requirements or processes.
Minimum cash register balance and float balance.
Hide over/short difference during opened register.
Mandatory to close the register before logout.
Automatically close the register.
Minimum cash register balance and float balance
When this toggle is turned on, the user can set a minimum amount that should always remain in the register. If a value of $100 is set then the register would not close until the user leaves the closing balance of at least $100.
Hide over/short difference during opened register
When this toggle is turned on, the user will not be able to see the “difference” field in the register. The difference would show you the amount that you are short by or up by during your verification/reconciliation at the time of closing the register. The user should still be able to view the differences in their Z-Report.
Mandatory to close the register before logout.
When this toggle is turned on, the user will not be allowed to log out of their RepairDesk account or exit the RepairDesk tab if they have not yet closed/reconciled their register.
Automatically close the register
When this toggle is turned on, the user will be able to assign a set time where they can choose an exact time when the register will automatically close. When the register closes automatically, the user should be able to receive in-app messages to remind them of the closure. It is required that to automatically close the register, the register has to be open.
Cash Drawer Denomination Settings
The user can configure what kind of cash they want to hold in their cash drawer/tills so that it gets easier to manage the payments during a transaction. Position, Currency and Value can be customized according to the user’s requirements. Their positions can be changed if required by dragging their position. They can be deleted as well, as shown below.
Employee Access for Z-report
Employees can be given access to Z-report through employee and access management module in the settings. This will allow the user to manage employee’s roles and permission as per their choice. This can be done by going to Employee Settings → Edit → See Permission. The rest of the Z-report guidelines can be viewed in the reporting section.
The user can now set Email or SMS notification for cash register according to their choice. They can select the options for the notification as shown below.
Join a Cash Register
Once a register has been opened, multiple employees from the store having access to the register can join it to make transactions in it. Any user joining the register would be able to close it as well. If you want to learn how to do it, read the steps below:
Join the register by clicking on the cash register you set up
Now when you perform any transaction it will be reflected in the cash register.
Opening the register
A cash register can only be opened by an employee who has that register assigned to their account. Once the register has been opened then the user will be able to see the following view of the register.
The user can now manage the tills virtually and verify the total with their cash register’s total. Upon clicking the arrow on the cash section, the user will be able to see the till. The user can add the denominations accordingly after the till has opened. Any change in the till will be reflected on the “verified total at start of current register”
The user can then check the verified total at the start of current register. Notes can also be added while opening a cash register.
Cash In/ Cash Out
Once you have your cash register all set, you can cash in and cash out by clicking on the Cash Register Name placed on the top right of your screen.
It will open a small window for you. Click on the Cash In button at the bottom of the window to add money to your register or click on the Cash Out button if you want to take money out of the register.
In the former case, add amount and reason in the designated text boxes. You can even upload documents if you want by clicking on the Upload button at the bottom. Once done, click on the Save Cash In button at the bottom.
In the latter case, add amount to be deducted and reason in the designated text boxes. Upload documents if any by clicking on the Upload button at the bottom. Once done, click on the Save Cash IO button at the bottom.
Closing the register
In order to close the register, the user needs to click the register in the POS at the upper right corner.
The user who has their register open and has the payment type marked as accumulated will be able to see only those fields which come with the accumulated configurations. Cash will be selected by default as an accumulative method. The user will be able to see the following view for accumulative payment methods. If a payout is made then that change will be reflected in that payment method’s over all total (as a cash out). For non-accumulative payment methods, payout field will not be shown. Notes can also be added when closing the register.
If a user starts a register and then either logs out or switch account without closing the register, the register will remain open. It can be joined again by the user whenever desired.